Marlin Grander Slam the Second

Great Barrier Reef October/November 2012

Since a whole year had passed since my last fishing trip to the Great Barrier Reef it was time to pack my rods and reels and set off to have a superb time on “Tradition”. This year saw the same crew on board and I was delighted to see Tim Richardson, Scuba Steve Hall, Carl Copeland and our aqua paparazzo Scott Kerrigan once again.

The reef is about 2,300 kilometres long of which some 300 kilometres are home to the hotspots. During the high season up to 40 boats a day set off to hunt Big Blacks.

To begin with I have to say that the light tackle and popper fishing was world-class but the marlin fishing was poor and failed to measure up to our expectations.

Over a total of 12 days we had only 9 bites and hooked only four black marlin with estimated weights of 80 lbs. (while using baitfish), 150 lbs., 350 lbs. and 500 lbs. The other five in the wake of our boat were between 300 and 450 lbs.

If you compare this season’s marlin fishing with recent years it must be said that the numbers of this species on the reef have dropped quite considerably. You could only expect to experience magic moments and catch large specimens by being at the right place at the right time.

At the beginning of this year’s trip we set off for the Northern part of Jewel Reef because we didn’t want to miss out on the popper fishing. On our way out we fought against 25 knot winds and 5 metre waves. For the first time in my life I felt signs of oncoming seasickness. Fortunately we got a bite and a hook-up in the troughs between the mountainous waves and my seasickness was quickly forgotten.

Popper Fishing

On arriving at Jewel Reef we anchored right next to the Nomad group boats – this was surely the right spot to target some decent GT’s.

Our first week’s fishing was during the full moon phase and conditions for popper fishing were excellent. We had found the right spot on the reef and got plenty of takes, some of which were from specimen sized fish. Regrettably I didn’t take any notes on the exact number of GT’s we caught – but suffice it to say there were plenty of them. The average weights were between 20-25 kg. The four largest GT’s to be caught during the trip weighed 32, 42, 44 and 48 kg.

Marlin Fishing

As mentioned above, in spite of having superb lures we failed to find the fish we were looking for although a superb grander was hooked by the boat next to ours. Its crew wanted to keep the fish under all circumstances because of its very large size. After quarter of an hour the marlin was gaffed but it bent the crook open. After another 15 minutes the 14/0 circle hook suffered the same fate and the marlin was free again. Whether or not it survived with the injury to its back will remain a secret for all times.

Light Tackle Fishing

After breakfast we used our light tackle to catch “bait fish” and every day seemed to come up with some surprise or another. We caught a wide range of many different species. The most important thing was to get the fish on the boat as quickly as possible because if you latched on to a bigger fish and needed any longer than 15 minutes to play it you would invariably find only its head left on the hook or nothing at all. Sharks were thick on the ground on the reefs and always first on the scene looking for a free dinner.

Snorkelling and Spear Fishing

At midday we usually anchored up over the reef for an hour or so close to a good snorkelling spot where we speared fish for our dinners. Here again we were quick to get our catches back to the boat swiftly since we didn’t want to drop into our bunks with our stomachs growling.

Fly Fishing for Barramundi

At the start of the trip I dedicated two days to some fly fishing with guide Terry Holeman. We fished the Daintree River on day one and the Johnson River near Innisfail on day two. Conditions on both days were regrettably anything but good. Murky brown water, rain and wind made life difficult. Nevertheless, we caught several smaller barramundis and one beautiful large specimen. By the way, we also hooked a couple of miniature tarpons, queen fish, jacks and almost a crocodile ☺.

SUMMARY

On the whole I would say I had a great time in Australia again. I was able to switch off completely and the excitement of reef fishing is simply unique to this area.

Despite the poor marlin fishing the great atmosphere on board never flagged. During the same period two fish estimated to be granders and several other large marlins were caught by other boats while some had even less hook-ups than we did. At times the light tackle and popper fishing was in my opinion world-class – I have never experienced anything like it.

The Great Barrier Reef is certainly the only place in the world where you have a real chance of catching a big black marlin during the season. I have met fellow anglers who didn’t catch their first estimated granders until the ninth attempt – well, that means I’m good for another couple of trips!

For more information on Tim Richardson and his boat Tradition: www.traditioncharters.com

For more information on photographer Scott Kerrigan:
www.aquapaparazzi.com

Stephan Kreupl, November 2012

Marlin Grander Slam die Zweite

Great Barrier Reef Oktober/November 2012

Nachdem seit meinem letzten Fischen am Great Barrier Reef wieder ein ganzes Jahr durchs Land gezogen ist, packte ich meine Ruten und Rollen zusammen, um auf der „Tradition“ eine super Zeit zu erleben. Auch dieses Jahr sollte das Team an Bord gleich bleiben und ich freute mich sehr, Tim Richardson, Scuba Steve Hall, Carl Copeland und unseren Aqua Papparazzo Scott Kerrigan wieder zu sehen.

Das Riff hat eine Länge von ca, 2300 km, wovon sich die Hot Spots auf ca. 300 km verteilen. In der Hauptsaison sind dort täglich bis zu 40 Boote auf der Jagd nach dem Big Black.

Zunächst ist zu sagen, dass das Lighttackle- und Popperfischen weltklasse war, das Marlinangeln jedoch für uns nicht besonders gut lief.

Wir hatten insgesamt in 12 Tagen nur 9 Bisse und fingen davon 4 Black Marline mit geschätzten Gewichten von 80 lbs (beim Köderfischangeln), 150 lbs, 350 lbs und 500 lbs. Die weiteren 5 Marline hinter unserem Boot waren zwischen 300 und 450 lbs schwer.

Vergleicht man das Marlinfischen dieser Saison mit den letzten Jahren ist festzustellen, dass viel weniger Fische dieser Spezies am Riff anzutreffen war. Nur wenn man zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Platz war, konnte man mit Sternstunden und kapitalen Exemplaren rechnen.

Da in diesem Jahr auch das Popperfischen nicht zu kurz kommen sollte, fuhren wir zu Beginn unserer Tour an den nördlichen Teil des Jewel Reefs. Auf der Fahrt dorthin hatten wir mit 25 Knoten Wind und 5 Meter hohen Wellen zu kämpfen. Dabei spürte ich zum ersten Mal die Anzeichen von Seekrankheit. Glücklicherweise bekamen wir zwischen den Wellenbergen einen Biss sowie einen Hookup und die Seekrankheit war auch schon wieder vergessen.

Popperfischen

Am Jewel Reef angekommen ankerten wir direkt neben den Booten der Nomadgroup – da konnte man nicht am falschen Platz für gutes GT-Fischen sein.

Die erste Woche unseres Angelns fiel in die Vollmondphase und wir hatten exzellente Bedingungen zum Popperfischen. Wir hatten den richtigen Platz am Riff gefunden und bekamen einige Bisse von teilweise kapitalen Exemplaren. Ich hab mir leider keine Notizen über die Anzahl unserer gefangenen GT’s gemacht – es waren Etliche. Das Durchschnittsgewicht lag bei 20-25 kg. Die vier größten GT’s der Tour hatten Gewichte von 32, 42, 44 und 48 kg.

Marlinfischen

Wie bereits erwähnt, fanden wir trotz Top-Köder nicht den Fisch, den wir wollten, währenddessen ein Supergrander direkt neben unserem Boot gehakt wurde. Da es sich bei diesem Fisch um ein sehr großes Exemplar handelte, wollte man diesen auf alle Fälle mitnehmen. Nach 15 Minuten war der Marlin am Gaff, doch er bog dieses auf. Nach weiteren 15 Minuten passierte das gleiche mit dem 14/0er Circle Hook und der Marlin war wieder frei. Ob er die erlittene Verletzung im Rücken überlebte bleibt leider für alle auf immer und ewig ein Geheimnis.

Lighttacklefischen

Nach dem Frühstück fischten wir mit leichtem Gerät auf „Köderfisch“ und durften fast täglich mit einer Überraschung rechnen. Wir fingen dabei eine breite Palette aller möglichen Arten. Wichtig war immer, den Fisch so schnell wie nur möglich an das Boot zu bekommen, denn hatte man einen größeren Fisch an der Leine und brauchte länger als 15 Min., blieb oftmals nur noch der Kopf oder auch gar nichts mehr übrig. Haie gab es am Riff wie Sand am Meer und sie waren immer sofort an Ort und Stelle.

Snorcheln und Speerfischen

Gegen Mittag gingen wir gerne für ca. eine Stunde an einer schönen Schnorchelstelle vor Anker und schossen mit dem Speer unser Dinner. Auch dabei haben wir immer zugesehen, unseren Fang in Sicherheit zu bringen, denn mit knurrenden Magen wollten wir nicht in die Koje.

Fliegenfischen auf Barramundi

Zu Beginn der Tour widmete ich zwei Tage dem Fliegenfischen mit Guide Terry Holeman. Wir fischten den ersten Tag am Daintree River und den 2. Tag am Johnson River bei Innisfail. Die Bedingungen waren allerdings für diese beiden Tage alles andere als gut. Trübes, braunes Wasser, Regen und Wind machten uns zu schaffen. Trotz alledem fingen wir einige kleinere Barramundis und ein schönes größeres Exemplar dieser Gattung. Nebenbei gingen noch ein paar Minitarpons, Queenfische Jacks und fast ein Krokodil ☺ an den Haken.

RESÜMEE

Insgesamt gesehen war es für mich mal wieder eine tolle Zeit in Australien. Ich konnte einfach komplett abschalten und das Drumherum beim Fischen am Riff ist schlichtweg einzigartig auf der Welt.

Trotz des schlechten Marlinangelns war die Stimmung an Bord immer sehr gut. Manche Boote fingen in diesen Tagen zwei geschätzte Grander und einige große andere Marline, andere Boote hakten jedoch noch weniger als wir. Das Lighttackle- und Popperfischen war meines Erachtens teilweise Weltklasse – das habe ich so auch noch nicht erlebt.

Das Great Barrier Reef ist sicherlich der einzige Platz auf der Welt, an dem man in der Saison eine reelle Chance auf einen großen Black Marlin hat. Ich habe Menschen kennengelernt, die erst nach dem 9. Anlauf ihren ersten geschätzten Grander gefangen haben – schön, da hab ich ja noch ein paar Anläufe gut!!

Mehr Informationen über Tim Richardson und seine Tradition: www.traditioncharters.com

Mehr Informationen über den Fotografen Scott Kerrigan:
www.aquapaparazzi.com

Stephan Kreupl im November 2012