Lure Rigging Service

Here is a short overview. I will start off with the angles of the hooks in relation to one another:

The hook positions I prefer:

The single-hook positions I prefer:

When fishing with catch and release in mind only the single-hook positions illustrated above should be used (really with no ifs and buts)! When rigging these lures my focus is primarily on the safety of the crew; anyone who has ever had to remove two razor-sharp hooks from the jaws of a marlin that is still lively will understand what I mean immediately!

My Loop Connections:

Crimped/knotted

My Loop Variations:

A: PVC+ steel ring (additional charge of € 2) / B: PVC shrink tube / C: Metal thimbles (additional charge of € 1)

The rear hooks either fixed or free to move:

My monofilament leader material:

Diameter (mm): Colour:  
2,5 clear -
2,3 clear blue
2,0 clear blue
1,8 clear blue
1,5 clear pink

My rigging recommendations for the SMOKER and GRANDER models: Approximately five metres of 2.3 mm dia. monofilament leader (clear or blue), both ends knotted, the mounting loop with a metal thimble insert, refer to illustration C.

I offer the following hooks as standard:

  • The Duratin Steel Variety with MUSTAD 7698BD or MUSTAD 7754D hooks in sizes 9/0 to 12/0. These are forged hooks made of high-grade ferrite steel. Their bending strength and breaking resistance are enormous which is why they are up to the job of handling the greatest of drilling and leader strains without failing. Unfortunately they have a tendency to rust around their ground surfaces so they do need a lot of loving care and attention. It is an easy and quick job to re-sharpen these hooks! Rigging a GRANDER or SMOKER with them costs: € 28
  • The Stainless Steel Variety, amongst others with MUSTAD 7732S or 7691S hooks in 9/0 to 12/0 sizes. These hooks will only rust under the most unfavourable conditions, and even then only in the corners and along the edges. Unfortunately this type of hook can open slightly under extreme pressure and have a tendency to snap in the barb notch. These hooks are easily and quickly re-sharpened! Rigging a GRANDER or SMOKER with them costs: € 34

On request I can also obtain other hook brands – but please allow for a procurement time of up to three weeks and check with me beforehand concerning any additional costs involved!
Here are two of my standard hook rigs illustrated in a slightly reduced size:

What else is important?:

  • All my rigs comply with the regulations of the International Game Fish Association (IGFA)!
  • Since I am always quite well informed regarding the when, where and how of billfish angling I would be pleased to advise you free of charge and with no commitment on which lures and rigs to select.
  • It goes without saying that I can run up rigs according to your own specification.

If you have any other questions and/or would like a personal offer please do not hesitate to contact me by phone on 0049 89 64208607 or send an e-mail to: ccr.rein@arcor.de.

Tights lines!

IGFA Captain + Representative, München

Montageservice

Hier ein kleiner Überblick, ich beginne mit der Winkelstellung der Haken zueinander:

Die von mir bevorzugten Hakenpositionen:

Die von mir bevorzugten Einhaken-Montagen:

Beim Angeln mit dem Vorsatz „Catch + Release“ sollten (eigentlich ohne Wenn und Aber) nur noch die oben gezeigten Einhaken-Montagen verwendet werden! Dabei liegt aber mein Hauptaugenmerk auf die Arbeitssicherheit der Crew; wer jemals einen noch munteren Marlin von zwei rasiermesserscharfen Haken befreien musste, wird mich sofort verstehen!

Meine Schlaufenverbindungen:

geklemmt / geknotet

Meine Schlaufenvarianten:

A: PVC+Stahlring (Aufpreis € 2) / B: PVC-Schlauch / C: Metallkausche (Aufpreis € 1)

Den hinteren Haken fixiert oder beweglich:

Mein Mono-Vorfachmaterial:

Durchmesser (mm): Farbe:  
2,5 klar -
2,3 klar blau
2,0 klar blau
1,8 klar blau
1,5 klar pink

Meine Montageempfehlung für die Modelle SMOKER und GRANDER: Zirka fünf Meter 2,3 mm dickes Mono-Vorfach (klar oder blau), beide Enden geknotet, die Einhängeschlaufe mit Metallkausche, siehe Variante C.

Als Standardhaken biete ich an:

  • Die „Duratin-Steel-Variante“ mit MUSTAD 7698BD oder MUSTAD 7754D Haken 9/0 bis 12/0. Diese Haken werden aus hochwertigen Feritstählen geschmiedet. Ihre Biegefestigkeit und Bruchsicherheit sind enorm, dadurch stecken sie auch härteste Drill- und Leaderbelastungen unbeschadet weg. Leider neigen Sie an den geschliffenen Stellen zum rosten und müssen deshalb gepflegt werden. Die Haken lassen sich leicht und schnell nachschleifen! Eine GRANDER- oder SMOKER-Montage kostet: € 28
  • Die „Stainless-Steel-Variante“ u. a. mit MUSTAD 7732S oder 7691S Haken 9/0 bis 12/0. Diese Haken rosten nur unter ungünstigen Bedingungen und dann auch nur in Ecken und Kanten. Leider biegen diese Haken bei extremen Belastungen etwas auf und neigen zu Brüchen in der Widerhakenkerbe. Die Haken lassen sich leicht und schnell nachschleifen! Eine GRANDER- oder SMOKER-Montage kostet: € 34

Auf Wunsch kann ich auch andere Hakenfabrikate besorgen – bitte aber eine Lieferzeit bis zu drei Wochen einplanen und die Mehrkosten vorher bei mir anfragen!
Hier sind zwei meiner Standard-Hakenrigs etwas verkleinert abgebildet:

Was ist noch wichtig:

  • Alle meine Montagen erfüllen die Regeln der International Game Fish Association (IGFA)!
  • Da ich auf Schwertträger und Thunfische in Bezug auf das „Wo, Wann und Wie“ immer recht gut informiert bin, biete ich Ihnen bei der Auswahl der Lures und Montagen eine kostenlose und unverbindliche Kundenberatung an.
  • Selbstverständlich montiere ich auch Ihren Wünschen entsprechend.

Falls Sie noch Fragen haben sollten und/oder ein persönliches Angebot wünschen, bitte anrufen 0049 89 64208607 oder mailen: ccr.rein@arcor.de.

Tights lines!

IGFA Captain + Representative, München