Rodrigues, February 2017

Target Fish: Dogtooth Tuna

Rodrigues is better known for its high winds and waves. However, it is also a simple fact that there are no firm rules and always a chance of a surprise when you go fishing. The latter was the case this time – a mirror-like sea and water temperatures of up to 31°C made fishing very challenging. While billfish were still being caught almost every day in January when conditions were ideal, a change in current direction, a complete lull in the wind and rapidly rising water temperatures meant that there were hardly any forage fish around the island and that the billfish had moved on.

The target we had set ourselves was to catch a decent dogtooth tuna, although February is not regarded as the best month for them in Rodrigues, and the high water temperatures were an added handicap.

For the first couple of days we tried our luck with poppers along the reef and caught GTs of up to 128 cm in length, a few doggies and other reef inhabitants with sharp dentures. At short notice we organized a small local boat for this type of fishing.

After that we joined Cyril and his crew on the “L’oiseau des Iles II”. Trolling around Rodrigues turned out to be extremely tough-going. We caught a couple of wahoos, dorados and small yellowfins. The dead calm situation even allowed us to try a bit of fly-fishing in comfort – that’s when the fun started.

We decided to switch to the Eastern Bank for the next 3 days and this was a wise decision. As far as we were concerned, trolling, jigging and fishing with bonitos for dogtooth tuna turned out to be excellent considering the difficult conditions. After dark every jig we dropped was attacked and our rods had a permanent bend in them. When we retired to our bunks for the night we always drifted a calamari squid to attract swordfish. We had bites every night but unfortunately only from sharks but you never know. What more can a fisherman’s heart desire?

Summary:
Cyril, the boat-owner and skipper, really knows his area inside out and in our opinion he did a great job. When jigging it is very important to know how, when and where to fish. This requires knowledge of the local area, necessary techniques, fine-tuning and flexibility for the type of fishing involved. The vessel is also suitable for longer trips. It is clean and technically well-equipped. We caught our target fish so the trip measured up to our expectations.
More information under www.defidailleurs.com

This time we stayed at the “La Giraudiere” Eco Lodge. Its rooms, surroundings and food can be strongly recommended.
More information under www.lagiraudiere.ecolodge.com

Tight Lines
Stephan Kreupl
February, 2017

Rodrigues, Februar 2017

Zielfisch Dogtooth Tuna

Rodrigues ist eigentlich bekannt für Wind und Wellen. Allerdings ist auch bekannt, dass es beim Fischen keine Regeln und immer wieder Überraschungen gibt. Dieses Mal sollte es anders kommen. Spiegelglatte See und Wassertemperaturen mit bis zu 31 Grad machten die Fischerei sehr anspruchsvoll. Im Januar wurden noch fast täglich Billfische bei optimalen Bedingungen gefangen. Durch eine neue Strömung, völlige Windstille und stark ansteigende Wassertemperaturen war nur noch wenig Futterfisch um die Insel versammelt und somit sind die Billfische auch weitergezogen.

Das gesteckte Ziel war es, einen guten Dogtooth Tuna zu fangen. Allerdings gilt auf Rodrigues der Februar nicht als der beste Monat dafür und dann kamen auch noch die hohen Wassertemperaturen dazu.

Die ersten Tage versuchten wir unser Glück beim Popperfischen am Riff und konnten GT’s bis 128 cm, einige Doggis und andere Riffbeißer landen. Für diesen Zweck hatten wir kurzfristig ein kleines, lokales Boot organisiert.

Danach waren wir mit Cyril und seiner Crew auf der „Loiseau des Iles II“ unterwegs. Das Schleppfischen rund um Rodrigues verlief außergewöhnlich zäh. Wir fingen ein paar Wahoos, Dorados sowie kleine Yellowfins. Die Null-Wind-Situation ließ es sogar zu, bequem mit der Fliegenrute fischen zu können – da kam Freude auf.

Wir entschlossen uns für 3 Tage auf die Ostbank zu fahren und das hat sich dann auch ausgezahlt. Schleppfischen als auch Jigging und das Fischen mit Bonito auf Dogtooth Tuna verlief aus unserer Sicht für die doch schwierigen Bedingungen sehr gut. Nach Eintritt der Dunkelheit blieb beim Jiggen kein Köder unberührt und die Ruten waren durchgängig krumm. Wenn wir uns dann in die Kajüten zum Schlafen legten, ließen wir immer über Nacht einen Kalmar für Schwertfisch triften. Wir bekamen jede Nacht einen Biss – leider immer nur Haie, aber man kann ja nie wissen – Anglerherz was willst Du mehr.

Resümee:
Cyril als Bootseigner und Kapitän kennt sein Gebiet sehr gut und machte aus unserer Sicht einen guten Job. Beim Jiggen ist es sehr wichtig zu wissen, wie, wann und wo die Fische zu beangeln sind. Das erfordert die nötige Ortskenntnis, Technik, Feinabstimmung und Flexibilität der Fischerei. Das Boot ist für längere Touren gut geeignet. Es ist sauber und technisch gut ausgestattet. Wir haben unseren Zielfisch gefangen und somit waren die Erwartungen erfüllt.
Mehr Informationen unter www.defidailleurs.com

Dieses Mal wählten wir als Unterkunft die Eco Lodge „La Giraudiere“. Zimmer, Anlage und Essen – empfehlenswert.
Mehr Informationen unter www.lagiraudiere.ecolodge.com

Tight Lines
Stephan Kreupl
Im Februar 2017