La Gomera

After receiving the third invitation from my fishing friend Stefan Mayer-Mendel to join him on his 36 foot Hatteras “Magic” based in La Gomera, I simply couldn’t say no again and decided to fish the waters around the Canary Islands for the first time.

It didn’t take long to book my ticket. The flight from Frankfurt to Tenerife South took about four and a half hours followed by a 30 minute taxi ride to the ferry port at Los Christianos. The crossing to San Sebastian de las Gomera took almost an hour. Things are much more relaxed there – nothing at all like Tenerife. After checking in at my hotel I set off for the briefing session held at a tapas bar.

The crew comprised of skipper Andrej Dolinsek, wireman Stefan Mayer-Mendel, his son Lucas and myself as anglers. We decided to take things nice and easy. After breakfast we would put to sea at about 11 a.m. and usually fished well into the evening.

We caught a total of 5 blue marlins out of 6 strikes and a spearfish on our own lures: a Big Smoker, two on a Striker, a Grander 1238, a Superjet and a Chuggy. We also had a big eye tuna strike and tentative knock-downs from white marlin, none of which took the hook. We estimated the weights of the marlin to be 650, 600, 350, 450 and 300 lbs.

Here are the exact details:

Day 1 – 2:3 blue marlin (incl. a double header)
Day 2 – 1:1 blue marlin
Day 3 – 0:2 big eye tuna and white marlin
Day 4 – 0:1 white marlin
Day 5 – 0:0 raised a white marlin
Day 6 – 0:1 white marlin
Day 7 – 2:2 blue marlin
Day 8 – 0:1 white marlin
Day 9 – 1:1 spearfish

La Gomera

Nach der 3. Einladung von meinem Angelfreud Stefan Mayer-Mendel auf seine 36 Fuß großen Hatteras „Magic“ nach La Gomera, konnte ich nicht mehr nein sagen und entschloss mich dazu, das erste Mal zum Fischen auf die Kanaren zu fahren.

Die Tickets waren schnell gebucht. Von Frankfurt nach Teneriffa Süd fliegt man in ca. 4,5 Stunden. Danach geht es mit einer 30 minütigen Taxifahrt zur Fähre nach Los Christianos. Mit der Fähre fährt man dann knapp eine Stunde nach San Sebastian de la Gomera. Dort geht alles etwas ruhiger zu – kein Vergleich mit Teneriffa. Im Hotel eingecheckt machte ich mich dann auf den Weg zur Lagebesprechung in eine Tapas-Bar.

Das Team war mit Skipper Andrej Dolinsek, Wireman, Stefan Mayer-Mendel, sein Sohn Lucas und mir als Angler schnell zusammengestellt. Wir ließen es immer gemütlich angehen. Nach dem Frühstücken stachen wir gegen 11 Uhr in See und fischten in der Regel bis in den Abend hinein.

Insgesamt fingen wir 5 Blaue Marline von 6 Strikes und einen Speerfisch mit unseren Lures „Big Smoker, 2x Striker, Grander 1238, Superjet und Chuggy“. Dazu kam noch ein Strike eines Big Eyes und einige vorsichtige knock downs von White Marlinen die alle nicht hängen blieben. Die Gewichte der Marline schätzten wir auf 650, 600, 350, 450 und 300 lbs.

Hier die genauen Ergebnisse:

Day 1 – 2:3 Blue Marlin (incl. a double header)
Day 2 – 1:1 Blue Marlin
Day 3 – 0:2 Big Eye Tuna and White Marlin
Day 4 – 0:1 White Marlin
Day 5 – 0:0 Raised a White Marlin
Day 6 – 0:1 White Marlin
Day 7 – 2:2 Blue Marlin
Day 8 – 0:1 White Marlin
Day 9 – 1:1 Spearfish