Kenya

"Great Moments"

East Africa coast, particularly before Kenya, was and is always a good address for a good fishing. Many German-speaking sea anglers – we too - gained their first (positive) experiences. After a stress flight with engine damage and an halfday-stop we arrived finite on the black continent, Mombasa Airport. How does it continue now - no fetching service is to be seen? A shrub taxi (from the 60ties) is still free, no windows, defective shock absorbers and to Malindi is not enough fuel. The driver does not dare away from the car, therefore the passenger has to get active; armed with a spare can I organize gasoline. At 11.00 o'clock at noon we are finally in the hotel. Suit-cases unpack, equipment install – the boats are waiting; Half charter: The first drill - a beautiful dorado, afterwards impact is on impact: 2 Wahoos, Bonitos and 5 sail fish, no a bad beginning.

Striped Marlin, ready for tagging

2. Day: 2 Dorados, 1 Wahoo, 4 smaller Yellowfins, Bonitos and 12 sail fish - the whole stress and annoyance are forgotten!

3. Day: At 8.00 o'clock we come into a swarm of bonitos. We catch plentifully Bonitos. In the middle of the drill, a small black marlin attacks my Bonito. The fish organizes giant pageants. At the thin line (20 lb) I have hardly a chance; after a half hour then I get the second winner (my line was broken). To the evening we catch 1 Dorado and 3 sail fish.

4. Day: 1 Giant Trevally, 5 Yellowfintuna, 2 Dorados and 10 sail fish – nearly perfect.

5. Day: Although we drag with large Lures on Marlin, we catch 2 sail fish, 1 Wahoo and 1 Barracuda. And then the High Light: a large Giant Trevally takes the 4 kg of Yellow Fin at the Downrigger. After a fantastic fight, the fish lies before us - lb it brings 104 on the balance!

Striped Marlin never give up.

The result of 4 exits:

Barracuda 1
Yellowfintuna 9
Dorados 3
Sail 32
Giant Trevally 2 Together: 54
Wahoo 4
Hooked Billfish: 33
3 Sail every exit: 7,1

Parting from Malindi - which calls Pemba Channel! Arrived in the club I get welcome by Peter and Sandra with a delicious dinner and "Tuskers". I hear the Pemba Stories; hopefully some new ones are added in the next days.

1. Day: 2 Wahoos, 1 Skip Jack Tuna and a striped Marlin after short fight lost.
2. Day: 1 Dorado, 1 Kingfish and Bonitos, otherwise nothing. Where are the Marlin and sail fish swarms?
3. Day: With the boat there are problems, maintenance is necessary. I have to fish from a Dinghy contently. Nevertheless, with a Rapala I catch a Kingfish of 34 lb, at the spin rod (12 lb) a gigantic twisting. Later I find out that it is up to the today's day a Kenya record!
4. Day: Only Bonitos large Sch …
5. Day: 2 Wahoos, Bonitos - why I am only away from Malindi?
6. Day: Last day - last luck!
7,30 o'clock, a large sail fish takes a Kombilure (small Ilander + Ballyhoo) - after 15 min. out-slit.
8,15 o'clock, a black Marlin of approx.. 350 lb takes the lure. I fight hard; after one hour out slit. Apparently I have the epidemic; I am to be thrown briefly before it the fishing rod over board.
9.30 o´clock, a striped marlin hooks on. I can release him after a short time.
10,15 o'clock, the next fish in the same weight class
11,00 o'clock, now the next one..
11,30 o'clock, a large Wahoo around 50 lb;
12,00 o'clock, still another one
13,30 o'clock, a sail fish lost, after a short fight
14,00 o'clock, a Blue Marlin? Unfortunate, it is "only" a large Stripie around 170 lb!
15.00, we approach to a bird swarm; Tuna and Dorados rob there, the water is "cooking". The second round, suddenly all roles run - a sixerstrike! There are Striped Marline and all remains hanging. Large chaos, we all fight (2 Mate, the captain and I). The boat drives on leaderless with small speed. The Marlins jumps wildly in disorder; none of us knows which is “his” fish.

(Dr. Glocke) and Stephan Kreupl.

2 steps out after 10 minutes, the Lures drops, 2 other fish takes the lures and it is again sixerstrike. Who ever could catch Striped Marlins, understands which that means; the fish are more in the air than in the water, between them super+fast Sprints. The total insanity, pictures which are always in an angler brain. We are lucky, fight-down and terminate the fishing rod day. If I would have known at that time that the Kenya record was at this time for about six per day and boat - one hour more; with large probability we would have broken the record. In the evening we celebrate, the young men tell me of the gigantic possibilities in the proximity of the Sea Mountains. A two-day-trip is necessary for it, with large chances on Bigeyetuna, Broadbill, blue and black Marlin, shark and naturally Striped Marlin and sail fish. Unfortunately the time is not sufficient; I have to go back to Germany.

Result of 6 exits Pemba Channel:

Wahoo 5 Kingfish 2
Skip Jack 1 Together: 22
Striped Marlin 7 Hooked Billfish: 17
Wahoo 4 Sail on exit: 1,2
Dorado 3

Result after 10,5 exits, Malindi and Pemba Channel together:

Caught Billfish + hooked Billfish together: 32 + 7 = 39 together: 33 + 17 = 50 per exit = 3.7 pro exit = 4,7

Kenia Record – caught from a dinghy.

Kenia

»Sternstunden«

Ostafrikas Küste, besonders vor Kenia, war und ist eine gute Adresse. Viele deutschsprachige Meeresangler – auch wir – sammelten dort ihre ersten (positiven) Erfahrungen. Nach einem Stressflug mit Triebwerksschaden und halbtätigen Zwischenstop sind wir endlich auf dem schwarzen Kontinent, Mombasa Airport angekommen. Wie geht es jetzt weiter – kein Abholservice ist weit und breit zu sehen? Ein Buschtaxi (aus den 60ern) ist noch frei, keine Fenster, defekte Stoßdämpfer und bis Malindi reicht das Benzin nicht aus. Der Fahrer traut sich nicht vom Auto weg, also muss der Fahrgast ran; mit einem Ersatzkanister bewaffnet organisiere ich Benzin. Um 11.00 Uhr mittags sind wir endlich im Hotel. Koffer auspacken, Gerät montieren – das Boot wartet; Halbcharter geht noch: Der erste Drill – eine schöne Goldmakrele, danach geht es Schlag auf Schlag: 2 Wahoos, Bonitos und 5 Segelfische, kein schlechter Anfang.

Gestreifter Marlin fertig zur Markierung.

2. Tag: 2 Königsmakrelen, 1 Wahoo, 4 kleinere Gelbflossenthune, Bonitos und 12 Segelfische – der ganze Stress und Ärger ist vergessen ich bin sehr zufrieden!

3. Tag: Um 8.00 Uhr geraten wir in einen Bonitschwarm. Wir fangen reichlich Bonitos. Mitten im Drill greift ein kleinerer schwarzer Marlin meinen Bonito an. Der Fisch veranstaltet einen Riesenspektakel. An der dünnen Leine (20 lb) habe ich kaum eine Chance; nach einer halben Stunde werde ich dann wie erwartet Zweiter durch Leinenbruch. Bis Abends werden es dann doch noch 1 Königsmakrele und 3 Segelfische.

4. Tag: 1 Giant Trevally, 5 Gelbflossenthunfische, 2 Goldmakrelen und 10 Segelfische – was will man mehr?

5. Tag: Obwohl wir mit großen Lures auf Marlin schleppen, bleiben 2 Segelfische, 1 Wahoo und 1 Barracuda hängen. Und dann das High Light: ein großer Giant Trevally packt die 4 kg Yellow Fin am Downrigger. Nach einem Superdrill liegt er vor uns – 104 lb bringt er auf die Waage.

Gestreifte Marline geben so schnell nicht auf.

Ergebnis nach 4 1/2 Ausfahrten

Barracuda 1
Gelbflossenthun 9
Königsmakrele 3
Segelfische 32
Giant Trevally 2 Zusammen: 54
Wahoo 4 Gehakte Billfische:33
Goldmakrele 3 Segelfische pro Ausfahrt: 7,1

Abschied von Malindi – der Pemba Channel ruft! Im Club angekommen werde ich von Peter und Sandra begrüßt; bei einem köstlichen Abendessen und einigen „Tuskers“ bekomme ich die Pemba-Stories zu hören; hoffentlich kommen in den nächsten Tagen einige Neue dazu.

1. Tag: 2 Wahoos, 1 Skip Jack Tuna und einen gesteiften Marlin nach kurzem Drill verloren.
2. Tag: 1 Goldmakrele, 1 Königsmakrele und Bonitos, ansonsten tote Hose. Wo sind die Marlin- und Segelfisch-Schwärme?
3. Tag: Mit dem Boot gibt es Probleme, eine Wartung ist notwendig. Ich muss mich mit einem Dinghy zufrieden geben. Trotzdem, mit einem Rapala fange ich eine Königsmakrele von 34 lb, an der Spinnrute (12 lb) ein gigantischer Drill. Später stellt sich raus, dass es ein bis zum heutigen Tage Keniarekord ist!
4. Tag: Nur Bonitos große Sch...
5. Tag: 2 Wahoos, Bonitos – warum bin ich nur von Malindi weg?
6. Tag: Letzter Tag – letztes Glück!
7.30 Uhr, ein großer Segelfisch packt einen Kombilure (kleiner Ilander + Ballyhoo) – nach 15 Min. ausgeschlitzt.
8.15 Uhr, ein schwarzer Marlin von ca. 350 lb packt zu. Ich drille was das Zeug hält; nach einer Stunde aus geschlitzt. Scheinbar habe ich die Seuche; ich bin kurz davor die Angel über Bord zu werfen.
9.30 Uhr, endlich bleibt ein Gestreifter hängen; nach 20 Minuten kann ich einen Fisch um 140 lb releasen;
10.15 Uhr, der nächste Gestreifte in der selben Gewichtsklasse;
11.00 Uhr, jetzt geht es Schlag auf Schlag: ein Gestreifter;
11.30 Uhr, ein großer Wahoo um 50 lb;
12.00 Uhr, noch ein Gestreifter;
13.30 Uhr, ein Segelfisch geht nach kurzem Drill verloren;
14.00 Uhr, ein Blue Marlin? Schade, es ist „nur“ ein großer Gestreifter um 170 lb! 15.00, wir nähern uns einem Vogelschwarm; Thunfische und Goldmakrelen rauben dort, das Wasser „kocht“. Die zweite Runde, plötzlich laufen alle Rollen – ein Sechserstrike! Es sind gestreifte Marline und alle bleiben hängen. Grosses Chaos, wir drillen zu viert (2 Mate, der Kapitän und ich). Das Boot fährt führerlos mit kleiner Fahrt weiter. Die Marline springen wild durcheinander; keiner von uns weiß welcher wo hängt.

Bei Tagen bis zu 12 Segelfische wurde der eine oder andere für die teilweise hungerleidende Bevölkerung gerne mitgenommen.

(Dr. Glocke) und Stephan Kreupl.

2 steigen nach 10 Minuten aus, die Lures sinken ab, 2 andere Fische packen zu und es sind wieder sechs Gestreifte. Wer einmal Gestreifte gefangen hat, wird verstehen was das bedeutet; die Fische sind mehr in der Luft als im Wasser, dazwischen superschnelle Sprints. Der totale Wahnsinn, Bilder die sich für immer in einem Anglerhirn festsetzen. Wie es das Schicksal will, fangen wir nur einen Fisch. Macht nichts, wir sind glücklich, abgekämpft und beenden den Angeltag. Hätte ich damals gewusst, dass der Keniarekord zu dieser Zeit für Gestreifte bei sechs pro Tag und Boot lag – eine Stunde drangehängt; mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit hätten wir den Rekord gebrochen. Am Abend wird gefeiert, die Jungs erzählen mir von den gigantischen Möglichkeiten in der Nähe der Sea-Montains. Ein Zweitagetrip ist dafür notwendig, mit großen Chancen auf Großaugenthun, Broadbill, blauer und schwarzer Marlin, Hai und selbstverständlich auch gestreifter Marlin und Segelfisch. Leider reicht die Zeit nicht mehr aus; ich muss zurück nach Deutschland.

Ergebnis nach 6 Ausfahrten im Pemba Channel:

Wahoo 5 Königsmakrele
2 Skip Jack 1 Zusammen: 22
Gestreifter Marlin 7 Gehakte Billfische: 17
Wahoo 4 Segelfische pro Ausfahrt: 1,2
Goldmakrele 3

Ergebnis nach 10,5 Ausfahrten, Malindi und Pemba Channel zusammen:

Gefangene Billfische Gehakte Billfische zusammen: 32 + 7 = 39
Zusammen: 33 + 17 = 50 pro Ausfahrt = 3,7 Pro Ausfahrt = 4,7

Kenia-Rekord im Dinghy gefangen.