Fishing off the Cape Verde Islands in July

Is there any such thing as an “off-season” down there?

This year Albi and I decided to fish on our boats, “Sambo” and “Smoker”, in July which is outside the so-called peak season.


Most boats finish their season after 4th July (Marlin World Cup). This means that after this event there are only a handful of charter vessels still operating and you have plenty of peace and quiet with no fishing pressures.

We spent the first few days fishing the grounds around San Pedro (Sao Vicente). During the entire month of July tuna weighing up to 250 pounds were widespread. We caught small mackerel and bonitos and used them as live bait whenever we could. We never had to wait long for bites and hooked tuna, sailfish, sharks and marlins.

July is one of the few calm months on the Cape Verde Islands so we took the opportunity to do plenty of fishing on the north-west bank off Santo Antao. We regularly took fish on the way to and from the bank. We were very flexible when over the bank itself. In addition to classic marlin fishing with our teasers and lures, we frequently steamed to shallower waters where we successfully targeted wahoo and tuna with our jigging rods and light tackle.

We caught a colourful range of fish when jigging. Unfortunately, we failed to hook a monster amberjack on this trip. Around the Cape Verde Islands amberjacks can weigh over 100 kilos. One of the boats lost three specimen-sized jacks in a row on one day which all snapped the lines.

We spent the last couple of days fishing the grounds off Sao Nicolau where we were the only charter boats at sea. We caught smaller tuna on live baits and a Galapagos shark of about 400 pounds.

Off the island of Raso we hooked a specimen marlin with our flying fish on a circle hook at a depth of only 58 metres. It soon became apparent that we had an exceptional fish on the other end of our line and the gaffs were brought out in readiness. The marlin was never more than a hundred metres away from the boat. We had it directly behind the boat seven times and the leader was tantalisingly close. After an hour-long fight and some 4 miles from the spot where it was hooked, the circle hook straightened out just behind boat and the fish was free again – bad luck…

In total we took 28 blue marlin weighing up to some 650 pounds, 3 sailfish, 21 yellow-fin tuna of up to 160 pounds, one big-eye tuna of around 180 pounds, 6 wahoo and numerous almako jacks, small amberjacks and other reef-dwellers when jigging.

We fished our lures with so-called single-hook rigs. The “Superjet”, “Striker” and “Zena” models yet again proved to be very effective. As teasers we used the “Grander1238”, “Mr. Big” and “Big Smoker” designs. For wahoo and tuna on lighter tackle over the bank we went for the “Magic Star” and “Magic Candy” models. Our “Magic Shot” yet again proved to be the absolute tuna killer.

If you have any questions on the fishing or how to book please do not hesitate to contact either

Tight Lines
Stephan Kreupl, August 2017

Angeln auf den Kapverden im Juli

Gibt es dort überhaupt so etwas wie eine “Nebensaison”?

In diesem Jahr entschieden Albi und ich, außerhalb der so genannten Hauptsaison und zwar im Juli auf unseren Booten “Sambo” und “Smoker” zu fischen.


Die meisten Boote beenden nach dem 4. Juli (Marlin World Cup) ihre Saison. Das bedeutet, danach sind nur noch eine Handvoll Charterboote unterwegs und man hat seine Ruhe und keinen Befischungsdruck.

Die ersten Tage begannen wir die Fischgründe rund um San Pedro (Sao Vicente) abzufischen. Über den ganzen Juli verteilt waren Thunfische mit Gewichten mit bis zu 250 Pfund unterwegs. Wir fingen uns kleine Makrelen und Bonitos und fischten mit Lebendköder wann immer wir konnten. Die Erfolge ließen nie lange auf sich warten und wir bekamen Thune, Segelfische, Haie und Marline an den Haken.

Der Juli zählt zu einem der windstillen Monate auf den Kapverden und wir bekamen die Chance, ausgiebig auf der Nord-West-Bank vor Santo Antao zu fischen. Auf dem Weg zur Bank und zurück hatten wir regelmäßig Fischkontakt. Auf der Bank selbst waren wir sehr flexibel. Neben der klassischen Marlin-Fischerei mit unseren Teasern und Lures gingen zwischendurch immer mal in seichteres Wasser und fischten mit unseren Jiggingruten und Lighttackle Gerät auf Wahoos und Tune mit regelmäßigem Erfolg.

Beim Jiggen konnten wir eine bunte Palette von unterschiedlichen Fischen fangen. Der Monster Amberjack blieb leider bei diesem Trip aus. Amberjacks können auf den Kapverden bis über 100 kg schwer werden. Eins der Boote verlor an einem Tag gleich 3 kapitale Exemplare in Reihe durch Schnurbruch.

Die letzten Tage befischten wir die Fanggründe von Sao Nicolau. Auch dort waren wir die einzigen Boote. Wir fingen kleinere Thune auf Lebendköder und einen ca. 400 Pfund Galapagos-Hai.

Vor der Insel Raso konnten wir mit unserem am Circle-Hook montierten Fliegenden-Fisch einen kapitalen Marlin in nur 58 Meter Wassertiefe haken. Es war uns schnell klar, dass wir einen Ausnahmefisch am anderen Ende der Angel hatten und die Gaffs lagen bereit. Der Fisch war nie weiter als 100 Meter vom Boot entfernt. 7 Mal hatten wir ihn direkt hinter dem Boot und das Vorfach war greifbar nah. Nach über einer Stunde Drillzeit und 4 Meilen von der Anbiss-Stelle entfernt, bog der Circle-Hook kurz hinter dem Boot auf und der Fisch war wieder frei – bad luck…

In Summe fingen wir zusammen 28 Blue Marline bis ca. 650 Pfund, 3 Segelfische, 21 Gelbflossen Thune bis 160 Pfund, 1 Großaugen Thun mit 180 Pfund, 6 Wahoos und beim Jiggen unzählige Almako Jacks, kleine Amberjacks und andere Riffbeisser.

Wir fischten unsere Lures mit so genannten “Single-Hook-Riggs”. Die Modelle “Superjet”, “Striker und “Zena” haben sich wieder mal bewährt. Als Teaser verwendeten wir die Lures “Grander1238”, “Mr. Big” und “Big Smoker”. Für das Light Tackle auf Wahoo und Tune auf der Bank die Modelle “Magic Star” und “Magic Candy”. Als absoluter Tuna Killer hat sich wieder mal der “Magic Shot” hervorgetan.

Für Fragen zur Fischerei und Buchungen stehen wir euch gerne zur Verfügung:

Tight Lines
Stephan Kreupl
Im August 2017