Weapons of Choice – Flexibility and Mobility

Cape Verde, May 2015

After fishing on our boat “Smoker” for 10 days we were able to add 16 blue marlins weighing up to 650 lbs. to our catch books.
For the first five days we enjoyed very good weather conditions. A new current brought us warm, deep-blue water with plenty of fish and little wind. For the first few days we fished the Sao Vicente Bank and then changed our location, moving on to Santo Antoa where we fished the North West Bank for a couple of days. All in all you can say that the numbers of fish caught by the entire charter fleet have dropped by a good 50 % this season compared to last year. However, when viewed from a global standpoint this is still very, very good.

For the second half of the trip the current changed overnight, bringing 2 degrees colder, green water and high winds. This made things a lot more difficult for the fleet. During this period we fished the lee side of Santo Antao Island.

As a rule we fished with 2 lures (single-hook rigs) on long riggers and 2-3 teasers at the short distances for bait & switch. Depending on the wind and current conditions we used our own Superjet, Honeyhooker, Little Grander, Striker and Chuggy lures for the positions further out. The teasers we used were Mr. Big, Grander 1238 and Big Smoker which proved to be very successful.

In total we caught 16 blue marlin out of 26 strikes and raised a further 10 marlin which followed our teasers. In the first five days we released 2 good fish weighing an estimated 650 and 600 lbs. respectively. One marlin was in the 450 lbs. range while the remainder all averaged 250 to 350 lbs., typical weights for this location.

Here are the full results:

Day 1 – 1:1 blue marlin and raised one more
Day 2 – 0:1 blue marlin and raised 1 more, released a spearfish and a wahoo
Day 3 – 3:5 blue marlin and raised 2 more
Day 4 – 5:7 blue marlin and raised 1 more
Day 5 – 1:1 blue marlin
Day 6 – 3:4 blue marlin and raised 1 more
Day 7 – 0:1 blue marlin
Day 8 – 0:1 blue marlin
Day 9 – 2:4 blue marlin and raised 3 more
Day 10 – 1:1 blue marlin and raised 1 more

Stephan Kreupl, May 2015

Die Waffen der Wahl - Flexibilität und Mobilität.

Kapverden, Mai 2015

Nach 10 Tagen Fischen auf unserem Boot der „Smoker“ konnten wir 16 gefangene Blue Marline bis 650 lbs auf unserer Liste vermerken.

In den ersten 5 Tagen hatten wir sehr gute, äußere Bedingungen. Eine neue Strömung brachte warmes, tiefblaues Wasser mit viel Fisch und wenig Wind. Wir fischten die ersten Tage die Bank von Sao Vicente und dann wechselten wir unseren Standort nach Santo Antoa und fischten ein paar Tage auf der Nord West Bank. Insgesamt kann man sagen, dass die Menge an Fisch in dieser Saison im Vergleich zu den vorherigen Jahren bei etwa 50 % für alle Boote liegt. Weltweit gesehen ist das allerdings immer noch sehr, sehr gut.

Die 2. Hälfte des Trips wechselte über Nacht die Strömung und brachte 2 Grad kühleres, grünes Wasser und viel Wind mit. Danach wurde es schwieriger für die Flotte. In dieser Zeit Fischten wir auf der Leeseite der Insel Santo Antao.

Wir fischten in der Regel mit 2 Lures (Single Hook Rigs) über die langen Rigger und 2-3 Teasern auf den kurzen Positionen für „Bait & Switch“. Je nach Wind- und Strömungssituation setzten wir unsere Lures „Superjet, Honeyhooker, Little Grander, Striker und Chuggy“ für die lange Position ein. Als Teaser verwendeten wir die Lures „Mr. Big, Smoker und Grander 1238“ mit sehr guten Ergebnissen.

Insgesamt fingen wir 16 blue marline von 26 strikes und hatten noch weitere 10 marline hinter unseren Teasern. In den ersten 5 Tagen konnten wir 2 gute Fische mit geschätzten Gewichten von 650 und 600 lbs releasen. Einen Marlin mit ca. 450 lbs und der Rest lag im ortsüblichen Durchschnittsgewicht zwischen 250 und 350 lb.

Hier die genauen Ergebnisse:

Day 1 – 1:1 Blue Marlin and raised one more
Day 2 – 0:1 Blue Marlin and raised 1 more, released a Speerfish and a Wahoo
Day 3 – 3:5 Blue Marlin and raised 2 more
Day 4 – 5:7 Blue Marlin and raised 1 more
Day 5 – 1:1 Blue Marlin
Day 6 – 3:4 Blue Marlin and raised 1 more
Day 7 – 0:1 Blue Marlin
Day 8 – 0:1 Blue Marlin
Day 9 – 2:4 Blue Marlin and raised 3 more
Day 10 – 1:1 Blue Marlin and raised 1 more

Stephan Kreupl im Mai 2015